Academic Calendar

FALL 2017

  • Tue, Mar 28

    Summer and Fall 2017 - Early Registration Begins - Graduates & Special Priority Groups

  • Tue, Apr 4

    Summer and Fall 2017 Early Registration Begins - Seniors

  • Tue, Apr 11

    Summer and Fall 2017 Early Registration Begins - Juniors

  • Tue, Apr 18

    Summer and Fall 2017 Early Registration Begins - Sophomores

  • Tue, Apr 25

    Summer and Fall 2017 Early Registration Begins - Freshmen

  • Mon, Jun 26

    December 2017 Graduation Application Opens

  • Tue, Aug 22

    Early Registration closes at 5:00 p.m. Payment Deadline, 6:00 p.m. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedule.

  • Wed, Aug 23

    Regular Registration opens, 10:00 a.m.

  • Wed, Aug 23 - Fri, Aug 25

    Regular Registration period (8/24 - 8/26). No late fees assessed.

  • Wed, Aug 23 - Fri, Aug 25

    Residence halls open 8/23 - 8/25. Check Housing website for details.

  • Thu, Aug 24

    Waitlists close, 10:00 a.m.

  • Fri, Aug 25

    Regular Registration closes at 5:00 p.m. Payment deadline 6:00 p.m. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedules and payment of late fees to register again.

  • Fri, Aug 25

    Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a full refund minus the matriculation fee, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Aug 28

    First day of classes

  • Mon, Aug 28

    Late Registration opens, 10:00 a.m.

  • Mon, Aug 28 - Tue, Sep 5

    Late Registration period (08/28 - 09/05). Late fee assessed. Late Registration will be closed from 5:00 pm 8/31 until 8:00 am 9/1.

  • Thu, Aug 31

    Last day to submit Request for Reduced Tuition Rate (Code 3) to the Graduate School or all other rate changes to the Registrar's Office, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Sep 4

    Labor Day Holiday - University Closed

  • Tue, Sep 5

    Late registration period ends, 5:00 p.m. No new registrations for Fall will be allowed after this date. Late registration payment deadline is 6:00 p.m. on 9/13. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedule.

  • Mon, Sep 11

    Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 80% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Wed, Sep 13

    Fall 2017 Census Date

  • Wed, Sep 13

    Last day to drop a class, but not withdraw from the University, and receive a refund for the amount of the course, 5:00 p.m. Courses dropped by this date will not appear on the official transcript and will not count towards the 6-drop limit.

  • Wed, Sep 13

    December 2017 Graduation Application Deadline

  • Thu, Sep 14

    Official roster verifications open for faculty submission

  • Mon, Sep 18

    Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 50% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Sep 25

    Official roster verifications due, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Sep 25

    Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 25% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Sep 25

    Early Alert Grading opens

  • Mon, Sep 25 - Mon, Oct 9

    Early Alert Grading Period: 9/25 - 10/9

  • Sat, Sep 30

    Emergency Loans Due

  • Fri, Oct 6

    Last day to drop a class or withdraw from the University without academic penalty. No refund.

  • Mon, Oct 9

    Early Alert Grades due, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Oct 27

    Deadline to submit thesis or dissertation to department chair for approval.

  • Fri, Oct 27

    Rollover deadline to move graduation date to a future semester

  • Tue, Oct 31

    Spring 2018 - Early Registration Begins - Graduates & Special Priority Groups

  • Thu, Nov 2

    Spring 2018 Early Registration begins for Seniors

  • Thu, Nov 2

    Spring 2018 - Graduation Application Opens

  • Tue, Nov 7

    Spring 2018 Early Registration begins for Juniors

  • Fri, Nov 10

    Last day to drop a class or withdraw from the University, 5:00 p.m. No refund.

  • Tue, Nov 14

    Spring 2018 Early Registration begins for Sophomores

  • Fri, Nov 17

    Last day to file theses and dissertations for students completing degree requirements in Fall 2017

  • Tue, Nov 21

    Spring 2018 Early Registration begins for Freshmen

  • Tue, Nov 21

    Residence hall close for Thanksgiving Break, 7:00 p.m.

  • Wed, Nov 22

    Thanksgiving Break - no classes

  • Thu, Nov 23 - Sun, Nov 26

    Thanksgiving Break - University Closed

  • Sun, Nov 26

    Residence Halls Open, 12:00 noon

  • Wed, Dec 6

    Final Grading Opens

  • Wed, Dec 6 - Mon, Dec 18

    Fall Final Grading Period (12/6 - 12/18)

  • Fri, Dec 8

    Last day of classes

  • Sat, Dec 9 - Thu, Dec 14

    Final Examinations Period

  • Wed, Dec 13

    Houston December Commencement Ceremony - 7:00 p.m., Hilton Americas

  • Thu, Dec 14

    Residence halls close at 7:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Dec 15 - Sat, Dec 16

    Denton December Commencement Ceremonies

  • Mon, Dec 18

    Fall Final Grades due, 5:00 p.m.

Share this page...
Share this page