Lionel Faure, Ph.D.

Assistant Clinical Professor

Lionel Faure, Ph.D.

1000 Old Main Circle
Scientific Research Commons
Room 104D



Lionel Faure is an Assistant Clinical Professor at Texas Woman’s University. He did his post-doctoral training at the University of North Texas, University of Georgia, and Texas Woman’s University. He has discovered different lipid-like molecules involved in seed germination and retina cell protection. He also characterized several enzymes involved in lipid synthesis in plants. Before joining his new position, Dr. Lionel Faure worked for three years as a Research Assistant for the Biology Department at TWU.
Dr. Lionel Faure is committed to his teaching and has received the Outstanding Academic Achievement and the Pioneer Spirit award for his support to graduate and undergraduate students. Dr. Lionel Faure is also in charge of training students on different techniques using state of the art equipment (e.g., LSM900, A1 confocal, Intuvo9000, Quantstudio3, and IncucyteS3).
His current research focuses on developing new strategies to increase the lipid droplet content in crops to: (1) improve agriculture, (2) developed green energy and (3) find new therapeutic targets to fight human viruses.


Ph.D., Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, University Bordeaux Victor Segalen, France, Bordeaux
M.S., Biochemistry and Plant Molecular Biology, University of Victor Segalen (France), France, Bordeaux
B.S., Biochemistry, University of Victor Segalen (France), France, Bordeaux


A. Thaliana; Lipid Metabolism; Plant Development; GC-MS (Intuvo 9000); HPLC; live Cell Emaging (Incucyte and Lionheart); Confocal Microscopy (LSM900, A1, SFC); Next Generation Sequencing (Miseq); Plant Culture; Cell Culture; C. Elegans; Cell Flow (Cytoflex); RT-qPCR (Quantstudio 3); Molecular Biology Techniques; Biochemistry; Enzymatic Assays; Protein Purification (Akta)

Latest Articles

Feedback regulation of BMP signaling by C. elegans cuticle collagens. Molecular Biology of the cell.
Molecular Biology of the Cell (2020)
U Maddan, L Faure, A Chowdhury, S Ahmed, EJ Ciccarelli

LPIAT, a lyso-phosphatidylinositol acyltransferase, modulates seed germination in Arabidopsis thaliana through PIP signaling pathways and is involved in hyperosmotic response
International Journal of Molecular Sciences (2020)
D Coulon, L Faure, M Grison, S Pascal, V Wattelet-Boyer

Structure-function analysis of SMAX1 reveals domains that mediate its karrikin-induced proteolysis and interaction with the receptor KAI2
The Plant Cell (2020)
A Khosla, N Morffy, Q Li, Lionel Faure, Sh Chang

Genetic interactions between the DBL-1/TGF-β -like pathway and dpy body size-associated genes in C. elegans
Molecular Biology of the Cell (2019)
F Lakdawala, B Madhu, L Faure, M Vora, RW Padgett

A chemical genetic screen uncovers a small molecule enhancer of the N-acylethanolamine degrading enzyme, fatty acid amide hydrolase, in Arabidopsis
Scientific Reports (2017)
L Faure, BR Khan, KD Chapman, EB Blancaflor

Fatty acid amide hydrolase regulates peripheral B cell receptor revision, polyreactivity, and B1 cells in lupus
Journal of Immunology (2016)
S Pathak, KR Kumar, H Kanta, F Carr-Johnson, J Han

Action and evolution of karrikin and strigolactone signaling
Genetics (2016)
N Morffy, L Faure, D Nelson

Effects of synthetic alkamides on Arabidopsis fatty acid amide hydrolase activity and plant development
Phytochemistry: The International Journal of Plant Chemistry, Plant Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2015)
L Faure, R Cavazos, BR Khan, RA Petros, P Koulen

Honors & Awards

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award, Texas Woman's University (2021)
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award, Texas Woman's University (2020)
  • Distinguished Staff, Graduate Student Council Texas Woman's University (2019)
  • Determining how TGF- β is secreted and controls surface barrier composition in C. elegans Poster Winner, Texas Genetic Society Annual Meeting (2017)
  • Identifying TGF-β regulators using the C. elegans roundworm model system Talk Award Winner, Texas Genetic Society Annual Meeting (2017)