Academic Calendar

FALL 2020

  • Tue, Mar 31

    Summer and Fall 2020 - Registration Begins - Graduates & Special Priority Groups

  • Thu, Apr 2

    Summer and Fall 2020 Registration Begins - Seniors

  • Tue, Apr 7

    Summer and Fall 2020 Registration Begins - Juniors

  • Tue, Apr 14

    Summer and Fall 2020 Registration Begins - Sophomores

  • Tue, Apr 21

    Summer and Fall 2020 Registration Begins - Freshmen

  • Mon, Jun 22

    December 2020 Graduation Application Opens

  • Tue, Aug 18

    Registration closes at 5:00 p.m. Payment Deadline, 6:00 p.m. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedule.

  • Wed, Aug 19

    Regular Registration opens, 10:00 a.m.

  • Wed, Aug 19 - Fri, Aug 21

    Regular Registration period (8/19 - 8/21). No late fees assessed.

  • Thu, Aug 20

    Waitlists close, 10:00 a.m.

  • Fri, Aug 21

    Long Fall & 7wk-1 session: Regular Registration ends. Payment deadline 6:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Aug 21

    Long Fall & 7wk-1 session: Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a full refund minus the matriculation fee.

  • Sat, Aug 22 - Thu, Aug 27

    Long Fall & 7wk-1 session: Late Registration period (08/22 - 08/27). Late fee assessed.

  • Mon, Aug 24

    First day of classes, Long Fall & 7wk-1 session

  • Wed, Aug 26

    7wk-1 session: Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 80% of the refundable amount of tuition & fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Thu, Aug 27

    Long Fall & 7wk-1 session: Late registration period ends, 5:00 p.m. No new registrations for Long Fall or 7wk-1 session will be allowed after this date. Late registration payment deadline, 6:00 p.m.

  • Thu, Aug 27

    All Fall sessons: Last day to submit Request for Reduced Tuition Rate (Code 3) to the Graduate School or all other rate changes to the Registrar's Office, 5:00 p.m.

  • Thu, Aug 27

    7wk-1 session: Last day to drop a class, but not withdraw from the University, and receive a refund for the amount of the course, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Aug 28

    Long Fall last day to withdraw from the University and receive 80% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Aug 28

    7wk-1 session: Census Date. Courses dropped by this date will not appear on the transcript and will not count towards 6-drop rule for undergraduates.

  • Fri, Aug 28

    7wk-1 session: Payment Deadline, 6:00 p.m. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedule.

  • Mon, Aug 31

    7wk-1 session: Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 50% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Sep 4

    Long Fall last day to withdraw from the University and receive 70% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Sep 7

    Labor Day Holiday - University Closed

  • Wed, Sep 9

    Long Fall: Census Date. Courses dropped by this date will not appear on the transcript and will not count towards 6-drop rule for undergraduates.

  • Wed, Sep 9

    Long Fall Payment Deadline, 6:00 p.m. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedule.

  • Wed, Sep 9

    Long Fall last day to drop a class, but not withdraw from the University, and receive a refund for the amount of the course, 5:00 p.m. Courses dropped by this date will not appear on the official transcript and will not count towards the 6-drop limit.

  • Wed, Sep 9

    December 2020 Graduation Application Deadline

  • Mon, Sep 14

    Long Fall last day to withdraw from the University and receive 50% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Sep 21

    Long Fall Early Alert Grading opens

  • Mon, Sep 21 - Mon, Oct 5

    Long Fall Early Alert Grading Period: 9/21 - 10/5

  • Mon, Sep 21

    Long Fall last day to withdraw from the University and receive 25% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Sep 25

    7wk-1 session: Last day to drop a course or withdraw from the university. No refund.

  • Mon, Oct 5

    Early Alert Grades due, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Oct 9

    7wk-1 session: Last day of the term.

  • Thu, Oct 15

    7wk-2 session: Waitlists Close, 10:00 a.m.

  • Fri, Oct 16

    7wk-1 session: Final Grading Deadline

  • Fri, Oct 16

    7-wk-2 session: Regular Registration ends. Payment deadline, 6:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Oct 16

    7-wk-2 session: Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a full refund minus the matriculation fee, 5:00 p.m.

  • Sat, Oct 17 - Thu, Oct 22

    7wk-2 session: Late Registration period (10/17- 10/22). Late fee assessed.

  • Mon, Oct 19

    7wk-2 session: First day of classes

  • Wed, Oct 21

    7wk-2 session: Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 80% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Thu, Oct 22

    7wk-2 session: Late Registration period ends, 5:00 p.m. No new registrations for Fall 7W2 will be allowed after this date.

  • Thu, Oct 22

    7wk-2 session: Last day to drop a class, but not withdraw from the University, and receive a refund for the amount of the course, 5:00 p.m.

  • Fri, Oct 23

    7wk-2 session: Census date. Courses dropped by this date will not appear on the transcript and will not count towards 6-drop rule for undergraduates.

  • Fri, Oct 23

    7wk-2 session: Payment Deadline, 6:00 p.m. Payments not received will result in deletion of class schedule.

  • Fri, Oct 23

    Deadline to submit defended thesis or dissertation to department chair for approval.

  • Mon, Oct 26

    7wk-2 session: Last day to withdraw from the University and receive 50% of the refundable amount of tuition and fees, 5:00 p.m.

  • Tue, Oct 27

    Spring 2021 - Registration Begins - Graduates & Special Priority Groups

  • Thu, Oct 29

    Spring 2021 Registration begins for Seniors

  • Thu, Oct 29

    Spring 2021 - Graduation Application Opens

  • Tue, Nov 3

    Spring 2021 Registration begins for Juniors

  • Fri, Nov 6

    Long Fall last day to drop a class or withdraw from the University, 5:00 p.m. No refund.

  • Tue, Nov 10

    Spring 2021 Registration begins for Sophomores

  • Fri, Nov 13

    Last day to file theses and dissertations for students completing degree requirements in Fall 2019

  • Fri, Nov 13

    Rollover deadline to move graduation date to a future semester

  • Tue, Nov 17

    Spring 2021 Registration begins for Freshmen

  • Fri, Nov 20

    7wk-2 session: Last day to drop a class or withdraw from the University, 5:00 p.m. No refund.

  • Wed, Nov 25 - Sun, Nov 29

    Thanksgiving Break - University Closed

  • Wed, Dec 2

    Long Fall & 7wk-2 session: Final Grading Opens

  • Wed, Dec 2 - Mon, Dec 14

    Long Fall & Fall 7wk-2 session Final Grading Period (12/2 - 12/14)

  • Fri, Dec 4

    Long Fall last day of classes

  • Fri, Dec 4

    Fall 7wk-2 session last day of the term

  • Sat, Dec 5 - Thu, Dec 10

    Final Examination Period

  • Fri, Dec 11 - Sat, Dec 12

    Denton December Commencement Ceremonies (schedule assignments announced early October)

  • Sun, Dec 13

    Houston Commencement Ceremony - Woodlands Waterway Marriott, 1:00 p.m.

  • Mon, Dec 14

    Long Fall, 7wk-2 session Final Grades due, 5:00 p.m.

Share this page...
Share this page